A Brief Introduction

Hello everybody!

My name is Andre Khatchaturian and I am proud to present you Beyond the Final Score. Oftentimes, the use of statistics in sports can help tell the story about the outcome of the game. Stats are a vital tool in sports today as many teams are trying to gain an edge in analytics.

Stats and analytics have grown so much, that each year MIT hosts the Sloan Sports Analytics Conference in Boston and guest speakers from the sports industry come to talk about the advancements of stats in the world of sports.

Having been a mathematical economics graduate at the University of Southern California, I have always had a passion for numbers and sports. I have written for Bleacher Report since March 2011 and I always incorporate stats in my articles there, the same way I will do here.

My theory is that if you don’t have media credentials to enter a locker room, the next best way to tell the story of the game is with numbers. Obviously, I hope to change the lack of media credentials problem in the near future as I progress in the field of sports journalism. Even when that happens, numbers will play an integral role in the story telling of sports.

I hope that you all enjoy this blog and find it informative and entertaining.

Take care.

 

About andrekhatch

Red Sox. Cowboys. Lakers. Penguins. USC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

